RSS

Part 5: Techchef4U iPad Lessons

19 May

Flipsnack

I came across this tool earlier today in the TCEA Twitter feed and it is just so cool (and easy to use) that I had to share! This Flipsnack I created is using my iPad Lessons(since they were already PDF’s and I needed them for this year’s Tech Camp). (Check out more blogs about Flipsnacks).

I found it was best to link all of the PDF’s into one document using Adobe Acrobat (“create a PDf from multiple files”) prior to uploading the PDF. Otherwise I found each book only had one page. The site does require a login but will give you a free link and embed code and allow you to upload up to 500 pages. This is a very cool way to highlight information and create a cool book of student work or resources. And the embedded hyperlinks in the document still work!!

I have included other links for Web 2.0 sites, resources, and supporting materials that will accompany the iPad Lessons above on my Teacher Web.

Thank you Apps in Education for featuring my lessons in your blog. These are a labor of love and I am so honored that people are getting a chance to see them and use them. As you write your lessons, please share them out. Inspiration and passion for technology integration are oftentimes contagious. Let the appapalooza commence!

iPad lesson development is universal & global: Just saw Jan Gamres blog (Norwegian) referencing the lesson process I stated in my last entry: Using the power of Google Translator, I was able to read it. What a wonderful world we live in! Translate it for some great tips on iPad Lesson development.

iPad Lessons ©2011. Lisa Johnson. All rights reserved. Permission to reproduce for classroom use granted

 
 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Part 5: Techchef4U iPad Lessons

  1. Becky Fritz

    June 22, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Hi!
    Any idea how to view this ON an iPad? FlipSnack is not displaying on my iPad 2. It’s a flash publication, right? And there is no Flash viewing App, right? I love your idea and I’d love to use it. (We will have iPads in our class next year.) But we are unable to view your sample lesson and any lesson that we created using FlipSnack.
    Thanks for your help!
    Becky

     
    • lisajohnson2007

      June 23, 2011 at 1:33 am

      Thanks for your interest and inquiry. Unfortunately, the lessons in Flipsnacks can only be viewed on a computer due to the tool being flash-based. The lessons are actually just PDF’s that I loaded in Flipsnacks for easy viewing… on a computer. Each lesson uses different apps and has an overarching theme: poetry, graphic novels, compare/contrast, virtual field trips, etc… I am in the process of adding the copyright info to each of the lessons presented in Flipsnacks. From there, I will upload them as PDF’s as well so they can be easily downloaded and referenced.

      On a side note, I am working on a fourth segment for the Cool Tech 4 Kids that will include apps and Web 2.0 tools to create books for both the iPad and the computer. This would probably be more what you had in mind for a student product.

       

Leave a Reply

 
